A topic came up today with a friend of mine of whether or not Picasa Web Albums that are marked as Private are indeed private! Well they are. In Picasa Web Albums, whether you upload through the website or through the Picasa application on your PC you can select to make an album Public, Private, or Anyone with a Link. The Drop Box and Instant Upload albums are Private by Default and should remain that way always. So here's how to verify for your own peace of mind that your "Private" album is visible to ONLY YOU and that the "Anyone with a Link" album does not show up in your public album listing.
1: Assuming you are signed into Google Services, go to
https://picasaweb.google.com , Click the Picasa App in Chrome, or Click the Photos Tab (shown below.)
2: Under your name, you will see a link that says "photos." If you right click it and select "Copy Link Address" that will give you your actual Picasa user id link. It goes directly to your Public Picasa web page. So go ahead and copy that link, bookmark it, add it to Favorites, Star it, etc. It's good to have anyway. BTW, go ahead and click that link below when you get a chance. Yeah, that one, the one that says "New Privacy Notice."
3: Sign out of Google Services.
4: Paste that copied URL (the link you just right clicked and selected Copy Link Address) into the URL bar. Hit Return on your keyboard. You will see that the only albums that show up to the public are in fact only Public albums. If a friend or family member that you shared Albums with via "Anyone with a Link" will also see those albums as expected.
I hope this quick tuturial helped.